The last five winners of the Queen Mother Champion Chase

The last five winners of the Queen Mother Champion Chase

In the annals of horse racing history, the Queen Mother Champion Chase stands as a pinnacle of speed, skill, and sheer athleticism.

Over the years, this illustrious Grade 1 race at the prestigious Cheltenham Festival has produced a parade of champions who have left an indelible mark on the sport of National Hunt Racing.

El Fabiolo looks set to etch his name in the record books in this year’s renewal, as the Willie Mullins-trained horse is the odds-on favourite in the Champion Chase odds 2024.

As anticipation builds, let’s take a closer look at the last five winners of the Queen Mother Champion Chase — each writing their name into racing folklore with unforgettable performances.

2017: Special Tiara

The 2017 Queen Mother Champion Chase belonged to Special Tiara, a tenacious competitor trained by Henry de Bromhead and ridden by Noel Fehily.

In a race defined by determination and courage, Special Tiara edged Fox Norton by a head to claim a memorable victory from 11/1 — stunning spectators and cementing his place in racing history.

2018 & 2019: Altior

Altior, the mighty bay gelding trained by Nicky Henderson, dominated the Queen Mother Champion Chase in both 2018 and 2019, showcasing unrivalled speed and agility.

Under the expert guidance of jockey Nico de Boinville, Altior stormed to victory in back-to-back editions of the race.

Altior captivated audiences with his electrifying performances and earned his place among the sport’s all-time greats.

2020: Politologue

In 2020, it was Politologue who emerged triumphant in the Queen Mother Champion Chase — delivering a masterful display of speed and precision under the guidance of jockey Harry Skelton and trainer Paul Nicholls.

With a flawless round of jumping and a relentless turn of foot, Politologue surged clear of his rivals to claim a well-deserved victory by nine-and-a-half lengths and etch his name into Cheltenham’s storied history.

2021: Put The Kettle On

Put The Kettle On, a talented mare also trained by De Bromhead, etched her name into racing folklore with a stunning victory in the 2021 Queen Mother Champion Chase.

Piloted by jockey Aidan Coleman, Put The Kettle On produced a scintillating display of jumping and speed — outclassing her rivals to secure a memorable win and capture the hearts of racing fans across the United Kingdom and Ireland.

2022 & 2023: Energumene

Energumene, the formidable bay gelding trained by Mullins, asserted his dominance in the Queen Mother Champion Chase with back-to-back victories in 2022 and 2023 — much to the delight of those who backed him with their Cheltenham welcome offers.

Under the expert guidance of jockey Paul Townend, Energumene showcased breathtaking speed and agility — storming to victory in both editions of the race and establishing himself as the undisputed champion of the two-mile division.

As we reflect on the last five winners of the Queen Mother Champion Chase, we’re reminded of the thrilling moments, the unforgettable performances, and the sheer brilliance that defines this prestigious race.

From the tenacity of Special Tiara to the dominance of Altior and the brilliance of Energumene, each champion has left their mark on racing history — adding to the allure and excitement of the Queen Mother Champion Chase at the Cheltenham Festival.

Related posts

Cheltenham Gold Cup Looks Set to See Irish Dominance Again

Akarsh Shekhar

Giannis Antetokounmpo- Early Life, Career and More

Akarsh Shekhar

Seamus Coleman: The Pivotal Cog in Ancelotti’s New-Look Everton

Akarsh Shekhar

Leave a Comment